Thoughts Before The BIG “Procedure”

Random thoughts during this busy week before “Deep Brain Stimulaton”.

UPDATE, 10/22/2022: Laura has now safely gone through “the procedure”.

  • The first question everyone has is “When?”
  • I go in tomorrow (Tues, 10/18) to get a detailed MRI of my brain -this will be the roadmap for the surgery.
  • Surgery #1 (electrodes into brain) is this Friday, October 21.
  • Surgery #2 (controller into chest) is a week later: Friday, October 28 .

– I have deliberatedly used the word “surgery” just as a little tweak at the hospital. They have obviously done a fair amount of training with employees that instead of using “surgery” or “operation”, they use “procedure” instead. …….less scary sounding……..

  • – My wonderful husband has been a prince all week : driving me to appts.,making my meal, washing the dishes, well, you get the idea.
  • – More wonderfulness: When we learned we had a 6an call, Paul booked a roon at the Hotel Sorrento, a historic romantic hotel just a block from the hospital.
  • – My wonderful friends also have been sooooo supportive. My walking group went so far as to throw a great party for me! I had asked folks to explore Goodwill and the back of their closet for beanies, caps, and the like so I could cover my bare head untl the hear grows out. I got stylish watch caps among other head coverings. One friend went
  • (ahem) “high hat” and got me a fabulous red hat suitable for weddings, funerals, and Baptist Sunday services. So I’m set.

-I had a big wad of questions that were listed in the last blog post, but I didn't take very good notes when I talked with the chief neurosurgeon and a member of his surgical team. I could see they were calm and confident in their skills. And he had me with his response to my question : “What’s the one word I don’t want to hear from your team?”

-” Ooops” \

About Laura Kennedy Gould

Laura woke up one morning in June 2012 and "as if by magic", her right hand was tremoring. Diagnosis: Parkinson's. Laura writes about Parkinson's research, Parkinson's people, and her own journey in her blog: "The Magic Trick -- Life with Parkinson's" (https://magictrickparkinsons.wordpress.com/).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thoughts Before The BIG “Procedure”

  1. Pam Jean McGaffin says:

    You got this, Laura. And I love that hat!

    Like

  2. Joan VanScoy says:

    I’ll be thinking of you this weekend.  Joan

    Like

  3. Ken DeRoux says:

    Best wishes Laura. Sybil and I are thinking of you.
    Ken

    Like

  4. Marilynn Stevens says:

    I wish you the very best outcome with this wonderful procedure!
    I met you at several of the Congresses and have been following your blog ever since.

    Like

  5. rachprime says:

    Congratulations on being on the other side of your procedure and I think your hat is simply fabulous! I’m very familiar with the desire to cove tones bald. Head. Sending healing wishes and blessings to you!
    Xoxo
    Rachael Saylors

    Like

  6. rachprime says:

    Oops! Didn’t mean to Double post. At least this is a safe place to have an “Oops” 😁

    Like

  7. Cynthia Wing says:

    It was wonderful hearing your voice today. I’m confident you have a great medical team. We all know Paul will do his very best to be there for you.. if not call me and tattle on him. Love you! Cyndi

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.