Dark and Stormy Night

I just about fell out of my chair in the examining room when my doctor said ” oh, yes that’s very common.”   Before I tell you what is “so common”, let me give you some examples. of the weird phenomenon that impacts over half the Parkies population. 

Older woman watching little boys Artist: Vicki Hin


First, a poignant tale:  From my window, I see two little boys in the garden next door. The boys  are both dressed in white tops  and blue bottoms.  One of the boys walks away. his image shimmers (picture a 1950s TV transmittal breaking down)  and then disappears entirely.  The other boy also disappears, but not before I can see the top and bottom turn into an irrigation box with (you guessed it) a  white top and blue bottom.  My prosaic husband says the blue fabric is –a tarp.

I really can’t  tell you how long I’ve had encounters with these people–..three or four years maybe?   It’s difficult to communicate with people who don’t communicate with you.  My husband would be snorting right now that why would I want to communicate with entities who don’t exist. 

Here are my “rules” for dealing with this strange population:

–I call them the Quiet People because they are.  Not a word…not a scream, not a grunt, nada.

–It’s hard for me to believe that I’m the only person in the world that can see them.  I’m just not that creative!  When do my script residuals start flowing in?

–Like Dracula, these people hide themselves from the sun, or more accurately, humans.  If I approach them with a camera, Poof! they disappear. They disappear even faster when the camera is wielded by a “normal” human.

Many more notes  and warnings I could be writing but. will stop here for now.  The secret word referred  to in the first paragraph is — psychosis.

To my horror, over half of Parkies’ patients experience psychosis.

I am determined to get out more blog posts on a more timely basis, so I hope to have a follow-on blog soon. 

In the meantime, I am entertained by illusions most nights. I think my favorite illusions are the angels on snowmobiles.

Or…are they real?

About Laura Kennedy Gould

Laura woke up one morning in June 2012 and "as if by magic", her right hand was tremoring. Diagnosis: Parkinson's. Laura writes about Parkinson's research, Parkinson's people, and her own journey in her blog: "The Magic Trick -- Life with Parkinson's" (https://magictrickparkinsons.wordpress.com/).
This entry was posted in non-motor symptoms, Side Effects, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dark and Stormy Night

  1. pammcgffn says:

    I love that you can find humor in these things, Laura. Hope you’re doing as well as you write. I’ve missed your blog, but understand. Gimme some angels on snowmobiles. Pam

    >

    Like

  2. Ken DeRoux says:

    Ken and I read this and I tried to comment on your page – not sure it went. Very interesting blogpost! Ken has the sense of another person often. So much so he’ll start to set another place setting for it, then realize it’s only us. He also feels that there’s another level to our house, but it’s just a single level house. Sybil (the typist), and Ken DeRoux.

    Like

  3. Linda B Reed says:

    Laura: Of course, I am sad that you are having to fight this battle. But that being said, you are a terrific writer and I really appreciate being able to share a little bit of what is going on in your world. Thanks so much for opening up to your ’77 classmates.

    Like

  4. Erin Hundtofte says:

    Thanks for sharing a glimpse from the inside. The word is scary, but your experience of it sounds whimsical.

    Like

  5. Bunny says:

    It’s wonderful to see you posting again! Maybe you can get those angel on snowmobiles to take dictation and help out with the blog. 😇

    Like

  6. Frank says:

    For me, angels/spirits are real because I’ve seen them. I hope you can find some small comfort in knowing that there are people out here who are praying for you Laura.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.