I Enjoy Being a Girl

What do Dolly Parton, Imelda Marcos, and Natasha McCarthy have in common?  They all love high heels!  Natasha, you may recall, is one of my fellow official bloggers, whom I had the pleasure of meeting in person at the World Parkinson Congress.  I guess Anne of Green Gables is long gone from Prince Edward Island (Canada)– Natasha is a fashion maven with multiple colored hair and fab shoes.  natasha-mccarthy-cropThis is a  girl who enjoys being a girl — and she knows that attitude is the only ammo against Parkinson’s.  Her mantra:  “Screw you, Parkinson’s!”

natasha-shoe-closet

Just a small part of the collection

She writes on her Facebook page: ” I LOVE my high heels and I refuse to let PD take them away from me…..I have Dystonia in my calves and the pain goes away when I’m in heels.” Alas, she subsequently
wrote, “My worst nightmare….lately my tremors have been happening more often in my legs ….It kicks into high gear when I wear heels & it’s becoming challenging to stand still in them. …I’m not giving up my high heel collection without a fight.”

This makes me wonder what are my “high heels”? What helps bolster a positive attitude for me?  I would say singing …and, just like Natasha’s high heels, I’m not going to give it up without a fight.   More about this in a future post.  Comment and let me know what are your “high heels” — what’s that special indulgence that keeps up your positive attitude?.

(Oh and just for the record,  I too enjoy being a girl, but wear “high” (<1/2″) heels about once a year.)

YouTube extra!  Doris Day sings “I Enjoy Being A Girl”.

 

About Laura Kennedy Gould

Author of magictrickparkinsons.wordpress.com "The Magic Trick -- Life with Parkinson's
This entry was posted in Parkinson's People, World Parkinson Congress and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

