Have you thanked your medical professional today?

20160114_090846

A box of raccoons!

“A Box of Raccoons!” was the subject line on the email from my neurologist,  Dr. John Roberts.   He was a bit mystified: “What I got was a box from NYC with 6 raccoons in it, which is not something that happens every day but it was fun to see.”

My explanatory note on the packing slip was not very obvious, but I sent the Parkys as a thank-you to the neurology team at Virginia Mason Hospital, here in Seattle.  I sent six so they could pass along a Parky to a patient or staff who might need a cheer-me-up.  And Dr. Roberts reported: “The staff was certainly cheered up by the critters. My staff  think they are very cute. We will put the Parkys to good use I am sure. Now I am getting excited about the WPC!”

20160114_090856

Laurel Beck, PT, part of my medical team.

You too can have your very own Parky and/or send one as a thank you to your medical professional.  The cute little raccoons are a fund raiser to help fund travel expenses for a junior researcher or person with Parkinson’s disease to attend the World Parkinson Congress this September in  Portland.

About Laura Kennedy Gould

Author of magictrickparkinsons.wordpress.com "The Magic Trick -- Life with Parkinson's
This entry was posted in Parkinson's People, World Parkinson Congress and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have you thanked your medical professional today?

  1. DigitalRabbit says:

    Thanks for the article on Parky. I just bought one for my favorite researcher!

Leave a Reply

